en English
Mini Cart 0

Your cart is empty.

Who are We?

Our Harlow Schools, Children and Young People Mental Health Support Team (MHST) is here to support Harlow schools.  We help to promote positive mental health within primary, secondary and higher education settings within the town.  Our MHST is part of the Government’s Green Paper initiative; ‘Transforming children and young people’s mental health provision’.

What Do We Do?

In Primary schools we focus on Child Anxiety or Challenging Behaviour and the work is carried out with the parent.  These interventions are for ages 4-11.  We also offer our Brain Buddies course for years 4,5 and 6.  Brain Buddies is an emotional regulation course which teaches children to recognise emotions and develop skills to tackle big feelings in their lives.  

In Secondary schools we focus on Adolescent Anxiety or Low Mood and the work is carried out directly with the young person.  We also run workshops and drop-ins for young people where appropriate.

We are still operating during the pandemic but our interventions are not currently face to face.  However, they can still be accessed over the telephone or online platforms.

We run regular online parent workshops too for Anxiety and Challenging Behaviour and these are aimed at the parents of primary age children.

We have, and are happy to, provide workshops for school staff too on a variety of well-being topics.

Additionally, we work with local organisations such as Changing Lives, Young Carers and Harlow Youth Council to promote positive mental health.  

How Can I Access Your Service?

Please speak to the Mental Health Lead in your school as they will also be able to make a referral for you.  

We are commissioned to work with the following 19 education settings within Harlow.  This is a pilot program with possibilities of extending the offer into more schools in the future.  At this time we can accept referrals from the listed schools ONLY. 

  • Cooks Spinney Primary Academy and Nursery
  • Burnt Mill Academy
  • Hare Street Community Primary School & Nursery
  • Harlow College
  • Jerounds Primary Academy
  • Mark Hall Academy
  • Kingsmoor Academy
  • Passmores Academy
  • Latton Green Primary Academy
  • Sir Frederick Gibberd College
  • Little Parndon Primary Academy
  • Pear Tree Mead Academy
  • Pemberley Academy
  • Potter Street Academy
  • Purford Green Primary School
  • St. James’ CofE Primary School
  • Tanys Dell Primary School
  • The Downs Primary School
  • William Martin C of E Junior, Infant and Nursery School

More Information

You can find regular updates on our team’s activities, advice and tips on our social media platforms.  Please find the links below:


If you would like more information, then please do email the team at [email protected]

Mini Cart 0

Your cart is empty.